The Punch reports that the current remuneration packages
approved by the Revenue Mobilisation, Allocation and Fiscal Commission (RMAFC),
is guided by the Remuneration Act of 2007.

In June 2015, the RMAFC set in motion the process for the
downward review of the existing salaries and allowances of political, public
and judicial office holders. The review became imperative following dwindling
government revenues caused by falling prices in the international oil market.
New packages prepared by a committee have been recently
ratified at a retreat held for commissioners of the agency.
However, the new packages are still have to be presented to
the Federal Executive Council, which has the responsibility to present it to
the National Assembly as a bill for enactment as an Act of Parliament.
Speaking with journalists on Saturday, November 14, Elias
Mbam, the chairman of RMAFC, noted that the new packages would soon be made
public, adding that the work was “going through a process of editing.”
Meanwhile, presidency sources revealed that the new
ministers will be paid in accordance with the existing statute because the
reviewed package was not yet ready.
According to the current package, Babatunde Fashola, the
minister of Power, Works and Housing, Rotimi Amaechi, the minister of
Transport, Lai Mohammed, the minister of Information and Culture, and other
senior ministers will get N4,052,800 as housing allowance.
Each of the ministers is also entitled to N6, 079,200 as
furniture allowance, which is paid once in four years.
If any of the ministers desires, he or she is also entitled
to N8,105,600 as motor vehicle allowance. However, the motor vehicle allowance
is a loan repayable by the end of the tenure of the minister.
The annual basic salary of a substantive minister is
N2,026,400 (N168,866:66 per month).
At the end of each month, each minister will receive motor
vehicle fuelling and maintenance allowance of N1, 519,800 (annual value).
Each of the senior ministers is entitled to a payment of
N1,519,800 for domestic staff, N911,880 annually – for , N607,920
– for utilities, N405,280 – for monitoring, N303,960 – for periodicals.
The summation of these annual allowances is N13,374, 240 for
each minister excluding the optional vehicle allowance.
See also  Arise O Nigeria Empowerment Initiative Presents Jodela Transformation Initiative

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *