Connect with us

Latest Update

2019: We Have Not Endorsed Any Gubernatorial Aspirant – Rivers East APC Leadership

The leadership of the APC Rivers East senatorial district has frowned at a purported gubernatorial endorsement by certain individuals, the leadership of the party described the move as shameful and outside guidelines, in a statement released in the early hours of Wednesday morning, the leadership further advised party members to totally disregard such endorsement.

The Release reads thus:

The attention of the Rivers East APC Leadership has been drawn to the shameful spate of endorsements in Rivers State, which is being sponsored by certain political jobbers who believe that they can impose a governorship aspirant on the party, outside its guidelines and regulations, and we hereby unequivocally state that we have not endorsed any aspirant ahead of the 2019 gubernatorial in Rivers State.

As abiding citizens and loyal party men and women, we believe that the time is not yet ripe to embark on such political activities, as both the Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC – the agency constitutionally mandated to regulate such matters, and the Chief John Oyegun-led National APC – the political platform which we belong to, are yet to roll out guidelines for the commencement of such engagements.

For the avoidance of doubt, Rivers people have gone beyond the level of engaging in any that is tailored along ethnic lines. Any aspirant who is vying for the exalted governorship seat, must be a person who has a broad acceptance across the various ethnic groups in the state.


We use this medium to advise loyal party members in Rivers East Senatorial District, to completely disregard such premature endorsements by individuals masquerading as Rivers East APC Stakeholders. Be rest assured that at the appropriate time and through the rightful party mechanism, Rivers people shall hear our voice as regards our candidate for the 2019 gubernatorial election in Rivers State.


1. Senator Andrew Uchendu, Leader, Emohua APC

2. Hon. Chikordi Dike, Leader, APC

3. Chief Nnamdi Wokekoro, Leader, Port Harcourt APC

4. Hon. Ikenga Chibike, Leader, Ikwerre APC

5. Hon. Maureen Tamuno, Leader, Ogu-Bolo APC

6. Hon. Barr. Reginald Ukwuoma, Leader, Etche APC

7. Hon. David Alabere, Leader, Okirika APC

8. Chief Jude Ubani, Leader, Omuma APC

October 25, 2017

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Subscribe for notification